Truth, Justice, Freedom [under fire]

Politics can be mundane, but rarely boring

On his knees, Ronald Reagan

with 3 comments


If only this were still a part of the government, if only it were part of our national leadership, if only this were part of our current culture.

No, we still wouldn’t be a perfect nation filled with perfect people. It is possible however, that we might be a nation more nearly filled with people who are forgiven.

It is possible that we might be a nation whose land is healed.

It is possible we might be a nation with something left to pass on to our children, grandchildren and their children. Something other than despair, something more than a debt they will never be able to fully pay.

If this were still part of our nation…..

Written by Gar Swaffar

April 30, 2013 at 2:44 am

Posted in Re-Thinking

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Gar,

    I feel so sad over this. Obviously this is no longer a part of our nation. It doesn’t look like that many people actually know what’s going on. Rush Limbaugh had statistics about how many people in this country stay informed and it was a mere 10%. God help us all.

    pepperhawk

    April 30, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    • I sometimes run the gamut of the cycle of grief over what’s happened to my nation. But seem to always land in a position of hope…since I’ve read the end of The Book.

      Gar Swaffar

      May 1, 2013 at 3:06 am

      • Gar,

        Sometimes when I’m walking Merlin out on the farm, I look about me where there is beauty everywhere, wide open spaces, rustic farms, fields for miles, and the Appalachians to the east and I have the feeling of disbelief. In such a rural, quiet, isolated spot, it is hard to believe what is actually happening to our country we love so much. Then I say The Our Father and ask God to help us if He can.

        Sometimes I cry. Other times I feel hope. Gos and I are not too far from leaving this earth anyway. But it’s my grand children who will suffer if the King O has his way and completely destroys us and the children will be eliminated. That makes me very sad because they have their whole lives ahead of them. They are bright, talented children who have goals at ages 8 and 10.

        If this country turns communist, they will never know the freedom we had. Each time I look into their sweet faces, it just tears me up inside. Then I say another prayer.

        pepperhawk

        May 1, 2013 at 4:47 am


Leave a Reply

