Truth, Justice, Freedom [under fire]

Politics can be mundane, but rarely boring

Liberal Life Concept

with 2 comments


The Liberal concept of life can be explained by the analogy of how my cat lives her life.

My cat sleeps about 20 hours a day.  She has her food prepared for her and served on demand.  She can eat whenever she wants, 24/7/365.  Her meals are provided at no precisely no cost to her.  She visits the cat Dr. once a year for her checkup, and also during the year as needed if or when any medical needs come up.  For this she pays according to her ability to pay, which is nothing, and nothing is required of her.   She lives in a nice neighborhood in a house which is much larger than  she has a need for, but  she is not required to do any upkeep, neither does she pay rent or taxes.  If she makes a mess, someone else cleans it up.  She has her choice of luxurious places to sleep.  She receives all of these accommodations absolutely free.  She is living like a queen, and has absolutely no expenses whatsoever.  All of her costs are picked up by others (my wife and I) who go out and earn a living every day.  I was just considering all of this, and suddenly it hit me like a hammer to the head,  Holy S#!t, my cat is a Democrat!
So I did the only responsible thing I could think of. I held an election, placed my name and my cats name on the ballot. I voted twice , the cat wandered off and laid down to think it over. While she was laying there I counted the ballots and declared myself the winner.
The cat is now relegated to living outside in the cold and rain, with an occasional restful interlude beside a warm fire in the evening, and she has the opportunity (24/7/365) to chase down, kill and eat any mouse or bird brave enough to cross the yard on their way to my henhouse and the cat can sleep anywhere she can find….outside.
Last I noticed she had lost almost two pounds (from 10 pounds to a bit more than 8 pounds) She now has a better attitude when I drive in at night and comes to say hello and actually sits, rolls around and purrs to suggest I should feed her. That happens in this case to be the definition of work for a cat. Since it is moderately pleasing for me to see that the cat notices when I come home, I often do feed her something, and she seems to appreciate it.
The mice which were setting up condos and townhouses in and around my henhouse have all left for better environs (without hungry cat) and my monthly cost for corn has dropped significantly.
The cat doctor no longer looks at me as if I were being purposely obtuse about taking care of the cats health and the Cat Doctor isn’t getting the business she used to get.
I highly recommend this procedure for the entire cast and crew of the House of Ill Repute (Representatives) plus the SINate. (it’s a sin they get paid to do what they’ve been doing)
Toss their sorry buttocks out in the cold, find a new group willing to actually pay attention to representing the People instead of simply worrying about being re-elected and see what comes of it.
Repeat as needed, but without fail allow the New Congress Critters no more than one term in office to figure out how to scam the system to make themselves wealthy at our expense.
Written by Gar Swaffar

December 30, 2009 at 5:36 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good analogy. Your cat is definately a democrat.

    Bobbie

    December 31, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    • She is a Democrat, but happily, she is also in a minority position in my family

      Gar Swaffar

      December 31, 2009 at 9:12 pm


Leave a Reply

